University Hospital Named CSRA’s Top Hospital for 15th Consecutive Year – 11/21/2013

University Hospital Named CSRA’s Top Hospital for 15th Consecutive Year – 11/21/2013

WJBF Press Release

Jennie Montgomery, WJBF Anchor

University Health Care System has been named the 2013/2014 Consumer Choice Award winner by the National Research Corporation (NRC) for the 15th year in a row.

The award identifies hospitals that health care consumers have chosen as having the highest quality and image in more than 300 markets throughout the U.S.Winners are determined by consumer perceptions on multiple quality and image ratings collected in the company’s Ticker Survey.

This study surveys more than 250,000 households representing more than 450,000 consumers in the contiguous 48 states and the District of Columbia. University is one of an elite group of hospitals nationwide, and the only one in the region, to win the award each year since 1999.

“University’s employees, physicians, volunteers and board members are incredibly honored and humbled to receive this award for the 15th consecutive year,” said James Davis, President/CEO of University Health Care System. “We all strive every day to make a difference in the lives of our patients, and we plan to continue to do so far into the future.”

University is the clear leader in 25 categories, including:

Emergency Department
Heart Care
Home Health
Hospital Inpatient Stay
Imaging Services
Most Personalized Care
Most Preferred Overall
Outpatient Surgery
Outpatient Testing
Patient Safety
Physical Therapy
Plastic Surgery
Website Usage
Women’s Health/GYN

“We are thrilled to offer this annual award because we understand how important the role of reputation plays in healthcare consumer decision-making,” said Susan L. Henricks, President and Chief Operating Officer at National Research. “These winners have done an outstanding job of representing their organizations in terms of high quality care, improvement initiatives, and positive consumer perceptions and experiences. The consumers have spoken. And we congratulate the winning hospitals in receiving this honor.”